“And just when I thought I was out, they pull me back in!”

I think the last time I posted something must have been in October.  Actually putting that thought into words really puts in perspective how much time has flown by.  During this time of “writing hibernation” wars of discrimination have been waged, people’s’ lives have been changed, and meanwhile, I write nothing…not a single word. I wish there was some excuse to give you as to why, but the real reason is that I had nothing to say that was worth more than a glance. The stress of the closing of the year hit me like a truck full of bricks, and left me with little creativity and inspiration to think of. That is, until last night.

There was nothing specific in concerns to the significance of last night, other than the fact that for the first time I finally finished Godfather III. Contrary to popular belief, I found this film quite moving. For those who have somehow managed to avoid the viewing of any of the trilogy, drop what you are doing and go watch them…just don’t start at III. However, I am going to generalize the plot as much as possible, for everyone’s sake.

The Godfather I takes place in New York City and Long Island, New York. The film spans the years of roughly 1945-1955. The beginning of the film starts at the butt end of the second World War, and the main character Michael Corleone served in the Marines after dropping out of Dartmouth College. Michael attended Dartmouth in order to escape the supposed perilous and dishonorable life that he believes his family lives.  Michael’s family is one of the five notorious mafioso families known as the Corleones, and the crime organization is run by Michael’s father, Don Vito Corleone (Andolini). Rather than praising the youngest of his son’s for being loyal to his ‘foster’ country, Vito and Michael seem to be feuding at the start of the story. When the family is in a time of crisis, Michael steps up to the plate, despite the conflict he has with his family, and chooses loyalty over all else. I don’t want to ruin the book/movie, but the first of the three movies ends with Michael becoming the new boss of the family after going through a serious character change.  He takes on this role, even though he despised the organization itself at the beginning.

The second of the three movies has to do with the time after Vito’s reign of power. Michael is now the boss of the Corleone family, and chooses to move them out to Nevada. In Nevada Michael becomes involved with dangerous gambling plots, including international gambling schemes. However, this whole time he is trying to maintain a relationship with his family. This movie juggles with themes and ideas of: loyalty (like the first  movie/book), the “it’s just business” mindset, and respect. The movie leaves the viewers with multiple character and relationship losses that set up for the final movie of the trilogy.

The third movie initially received a bad reputation, and still does to this day. The third movie follows Michael as he tries to reform and turn the “respect” he tried to obtain from the first movies, and morph it into legitimacy. He attempts to do this through his work with the Vatican; however, this only further leads to scandal. He also has to deal with the rejection that his family submits him to yet again; however, this time the rejection is well deserved…or is it? I am not going to go into any more detail on this movie, because I couldn’t stand if someone ruined it from me.

Why did I bother explaining this to you? Well, after a long period of time of ignoring the third movie’s existence, I finally made it through the whole thing, and I was astonished. These three movies depict a legacy of crime, and the effects of betrayal. These movies appear to just be another blood bath to some people, or just another “mafia or mob movie”, but I found something entirely different upon completing the third film. I found that sometimes just when you think you have figured something out, it is never really what it seems to be. I knew this in a sense, but the Trilogy either covered the true meaning up very well which made the realization even emotionally stronger. That, or I’m over analyzing…could be either. The Godfather movie trilogy in its entirety indirectly depicts a man who is constantly rejected by his family and society, his attempts to try to appease everyone, and his failure in achieving the only thing he wants (because he only worries about everyone else).

Throughout the whole entire trilogy, Michael is bombarded with disapproval. First, society disapproves his family…so he changes. Then his family disapproves the new him …so he changes. Then, people disagree with his business decisions…so he changes them. Furthermore, Kay (his wife) tries to leave him, in which he responds to with “I’ll change”. After everyone leaves him due to disapproval, he changes yet again, and makes a move toward legitimizing his criminal activity. Despite his good intentions, people still approve, which regions him back into crime. The whole entire time though, the only thing Michael wanted was a companion, and when he and his actual family (wife, daughter, and son) finally have that relationship, it is taken from him.

After this tirade, I believe it is my turn to share the message with you: You cannot always please everyone, and sometimes you just have to fulfill what you want to achieve before you worry about what others want from you…before it’s too late.

or…

No matter how hard you try and make other people happy, you can’t please everyone, and attempting to, will lead to catastrophe.

So in the most unexpected way possible I learned a lesson, and I think I “wasted’ my time watching a movie for a good reason.

And just to pose an obscure question: Is the Godfather Trilogy actually a Bildungsroman?

My Analysis: A Bildungsroman masked by death and violence. That’s the great thing about art, it is all up for interpretation

WATCH THE GODFATHER I, II, and III–it won’t be a waste of ten hours, I promise.

Also, since we are on the topic of movies. I am going to selfishly advertise my new documentary that is to come out Friday afternoon. The documentary is called “Ticky Tacky”, and its main focus is to shed light upon an important and prominent subject: breaking out of your comfort zone. In the honor of leaving the comfort zone, my docu-group decided to take a different approach in story telling by using color, geography, and music to direct the story arc, rather than only character development. I will be posting it under the film section of the blog on Saturday, so please if you get a chance check it out. I would love to hear feedback.

The title is a quote that is in no way my property and belongs to the writer Mario Puzo and director Francis Ford Coppola

I hope you enjoyed my little rant, and it has inspired you to watch the movies. 🙂 Love it, or hate it? Let me know by leaving a comment!

-Casey

Leave a comment